FLYing Basics: Day 16 – The 11 Commandments

We have made it two full weeks with our FLYing Basics!!  Good work!  Keep plugging along, building your routines.  You are building a more efficient home with each step.  And when you have a smooth running ship, you have a happy crew!

The 11 Commandments of FLYing

The 11 Commandments are the Flylady’s little secrets to success.  If we learn to adopt these practices in our daily lives, we will be doing fabulous!  And we will definitely find a reduction in chaos at home.  Here’s the Commandments:

1. Keep your sink clean and shiny

2. Get dressed every morning (all the way to your shoes)

3. Do your Morning and Bedtime Routines everyday

4. Don’t let yourself be sidetracked by the computer.

5. Pick up after yourself.  If you get it out, put it away

6. Don’t try to do 2 projects at once

7. Don’t pull out more than you can put back in one hour

8. Do something for yourself everyday

9. Work as fast as you can to get the job done

10. Smile even when you don’t feel like it.

11. Don’t forget to laugh everyday

 (For more great tips and tools check out www.Flylady.net)

There’s Always Room for Improvement

Which of these little secrets caught your attention?  Is there one you would like to really grow in? I would like to work more on #5.  As I’ve mentioned before, I am Pick Up, Put Away challenged.  I am always setting things down without thinking about it, and at the end of the day I can see a trail wherever I have been!  I’ve focusing more on this area by applying more frequent Hotspot fire drills, and by doing a morning pickup of dirty clothes around the house.  I know that I can replace my bad habit by focusing more and more putting things back when I am done, and giving everything I own a home.

Which of the 11 commandments do you want to focus on?  I’d like you to pick one that you want to carry with you this week.  Make it your motto, and really focus on it in the coming week as you do your daily routines.  Maybe even write it out on a 3×5 card and post it somewhere you will see it everyday.  Stretch your wings a little bit, and see yourself FLY to new heights!

***I’d like to add credit for the fabulous graphic of “The Eleven Commandments” to Holly Ford at www.forwardmovingmommy.blogspot.com. Check out her fun blog too!  Thanks so much Holly!

Comments

  1. Is the poster printable? It was made by my DIL, Holly Ford. If you want info on how to print it, I will give you the link to her blog.

    • Lynn,Thanks for letting me know. I am thrilled to give your DIL credit. I just think her graphic is fabulous. I found it on FB about a year ago, but no one new who had made it. I have edited the blog to give her credit and a link to her blog. Thanks!

  2. I came upon your site today as i was preparing to start the flylady system over again and was surprised to see my Graphic!! Is there any way you could link to my blog, since you have used my art? I would really appreciate it! http://www.fordwardmovingmommy.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

